Mayor of Farnham 2019/20

Councillor David Attfield was elected as the Farnham Town Mayor in May 2018. He will hold this position until May 2019. The Mayor’s Consort is Anne Attfield and the Deputy Mayor is Councillor Paula Dunsmore. Find out more about the Mayor of Farnham.

Mayor’s Charity

The Mayor’s charity is Garner’s goes Bananas. This charity raises money for Garner’s Field Activity Centre. This eight-acre activity centre is used by Scout groups, youth organisations and Duke of Edinburgh Award parties and has various activities including an adventure trail, climbing tower, campsite.

First set up in the 1970s, the activity centre now needs extending and upgrading and the Farnham Scouts are seeking local support to fund this work.

Inviting the Mayor to your event

To invite the Mayor to visit or to open an event please complete the form online or print and complete.

About the Mayor

The Mayor acts as an ambassador for Farnham, promoting and upholding the character of the town, supporting community groups and projects.

The Mayor is Farnham’s first citizen. Town councillors elect the Town Mayor annually. The Mayor-making ceremony takes place in early May at the first meeting of the council year. The Mayor is elected to office for one year.

The Town Mayor chairs the Town’s Council meetings and represents the town at civic and ceremonial functions. During the mayoral year, the Mayor will attend around 300 engagements.

Every year the Town Mayor chooses a charity for which he/she wishes to raise funds during the mayoral year.

Past Mayors

Farnham has had a town mayor since 1984. See the list of past Mayors for details about who has held the title.

History of the Mayoral role

The office of Mayor was brought to this country by the Normans in the 11th century and the word ‘Mayor’ derives from the Latin word ‘maior’ meaning greater.