Skip to main content

Stravinsky Firebird and Prokofiev violin concerto with So-Ock Kim

Loading Map....


Saturday 14 March 2020 - 19.45 - 22.00


Farnham Maltings

Conductor: William Carslake Soloist: So-Ock Kim (Violin)

Glinka: Ruslan and Lyudmila Overture Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 1 Stravinsky: Firebird (1945)

Our March concert is a celebration of Russian music and we are privileged to welcome back So-Ock Kim to perform Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 1. So-Ock has worked with the FSO several times over the last four years and audiences and players alike have been overwhelmingly appreciative of her virtuosity and musicality. The final work of the concert reflects another of Artistic Director, Bill Carslake’s key strategic themes, that of music connected with the ourdoors; we will be transported to the forest with the elusive firebird for Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite 1945. The concert begins with the overture to Glinka’s opera Ruslan and Lyudmila, which was based on a poem by Alexander Pushkin but which is rarely performed in full.