Skip to main content

Elgar Cello Concerto, Brahms 1, D. Matthews Sinfonia

Loading Map....


Saturday 16 November 2019 - 19.45 - 22.00


Princes Hall

Conductor: William Carslake Soloist: John Myerscough (Cello)

D.Matthews: Sinfonia Elgar: Cello Concerto Brahms: Symphony No. 1

The FSO’s new season begins with a concert celebrating the 100th anniversary of Elgar’s Cello Concerto, written after the composer heard of the death of his one-time fiancée’s son in the Great War. To play this contemplative and elegiac work, we are delighted to welcome back John Myerscough who stepped in at short notice to join the Fidelio Trio’s Beethoven Triple Concerto with us last season. The concert opens with David Matthews’ Sinfonia, a work commissioned by the English Chamber Orchestra in 1995-6 to celebrate their 35th anniversary and which reflects one of Artistic Director, Bill Carslake’s key strategic themes: new music. The concert will close with Brahms’ Symphony No. 1, a work over which the composer, conscious of the shadow of Beethoven, agonised for some 14 years. We look forward to performing what promises to be a memorable opening to our 2019/20 season.